You are hereMister Mac Award

Mister Mac Award

McDonough Award for Excellence in Leadership (Mister Mac Award)

Periodically, the McDonough Center awards the "Mister Mac" as a way to recognize excellence in leadership. This prestigious award is named after the "Mister Mac" towboat, the flagship towboat of the Marmac Corporation fleet. It's a hard-working towboat, and it leads the pack through its energy and effort. A towboat moves big ideas -- without necessarily drawing attention to itself.

The award is given in honor of the late Bernard P. McDonough (1903-1985), a self-made industrialist and entrepreneur who ran wide-ranging global business interests from his Marmac Corporation headquarters in Parkersburg, West Virginia. His generosity has inspired us to seek others who are innovators in their field and promote an exploration of new ways of thinking. 

Mister Mac Award recipients must visit Marietta in order to accept the award. While in town, they usually have a chance to interact with the campus community through a Leadership Q&A session.


Jim Luce (left), Founder and C.E.O. of the James Jay Dudley Foundation, accepting the Mister Mac from Gama Perruci, Dean of the McDonough Center. To learn more about the McDonough Center's partnership with the J. Luce Foundation, click HERE.

Bryan Moynihan (second from left) received the 2015 Mister Mac Award during an event sponsored by the Economic Roundtable (ERT) of the Ohio Valley; also pictured (from left): Greg Delemeester, Professor of Economics; Gama Perruci, Dean of the McDonough Center; and David Mead, ERT Chair and Associate Professor of Finance.

Anousheh Ansari (center) received the 2010 Mister Mac Award during an event sponsored by the Economic Roundtable (ERT) of the Ohio Valley; also pictured: Gama Perruci (left), Dean of the McDonough Center; and Jackie Khorassani, Former ERT Chair and Professor of Economics.


Recent Recipients of the Mister Mac Award

2015: Jim Luce, Founder and C.E.O. of the James Jay Dudley Foundation; Brian Moynihan, C.E.O. of Bank of America

2013: Robert Rubin, Co-Chair of The Council on Foreign Relations; 70th United States Secretary of the Treasury
2010: Anousheh Ansari, First Female Private Space Explorer; CEO, Chair, and Co-Founder, Prodea Systems, Inc.
2007: Steven Forbes, Editor-in-Chief, Forbes Business Magazine; President and CEO, Forbes Inc.
2004: Ted Kennedy, Jr., President of the Marwood Group
2002: David A. Brandon, Chairman and CEO, Domino's Pizza LLC
2001: Tami Longaberger, President and CEO, The Longaberger Company
1997: Alex Trotman, CEO and Chairman of the Board, Ford Motor Company
1995: Nancy P. Hollister, Lieutenant Governor of Ohio
1995: Ambassador James R. Lilley, Former U.S. Ambassador to China
1994: Ambassador Li Zhaxoing, Former Chinese Ambassador to U.N.
1994: Story Musgrave, Astronaut & MC Alumnus
1990: Ted Turner, Turner Broadcasting

Apply Promo

Tower Notes

Read the latest issue of Tower Notes